Winnebago County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Winnebago County

Winnebago County is named for the Winnebago Native American tribe.


Created:  January 6, 1840

County Seat: 

Oshkosh  1840 – present


County Courthouse – Oshkosh


Location:   415 Jackson Street / Algoma Boulevard

Built:  1937 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Frank L Venning of Granger & Bollenbacher, Architects of Chicago, Illinois

Contractor:  Lundoff-Bicknell Company of Cleveland, Ohio


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a three story limestone clad structure. The windows on the second and third stories are a continuous long narrow window. The southeast front has a recessed entrance bordered with designs in the stone trim.



N – Waupaca County and Outagamie County

E – Calumet County and Fond du Lac County

S – Fond du Lac County

W – Green Lake County and Waushara County





Photos taken 2007