Waupaca County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Waupaca County

Waupaca County is named for a Menominee word meaning “white sand bottom” or “brave young her”.


Created:  February 17, 1851

County Seat: 

Mukwa      1851 – 1890

Waupaca  1890 – present


County Courthouse – Waupaca


Location:  811 Harding Street / Royalton Street

Built:  1988 – 1989

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sauter Seaborne Architects

Contractor:  P G Miron Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick, stone, glass and concrete structure. The south front of the building has two large square light colored brick towers with tired levels between and with an extending stone faced portico over the glass entrance on the ground floor. Other brick towers are placed around the building. The windows are horizontal with white stone facing between each story.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by William Waters in 1882. An addition was designed by William Waters and constructed in 1906.



N – Shawano County

E – Shawano County and Outagamie County 

S – Winnebago County and Waushara County

W – Portage County











Photos taken 2007