Washburn County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Washburn County

Washburn County is named for Cadwallader Washburn, who was Governor of Wisconsin from 1872 to 1874.


Created:  March 27, 1883

County Seat: 

Shell Lake  1883 – present


County Courthouse – Shell Lake


Location:  10 4th Avenue / 1st Street

Built:  1988 – 1989

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Bray Associates Architects Inc

Contractor:  Vonasak & Schieffer Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The north front has pillars on the first story and the center of the second story protrudes over the entrance forming a portico and faced with a yellow colored stone which forms a pattern. The windows are narrow in a horizontal line on the second story. At the south rear of the building is a connecting hallway with the Law Enforcement Building on the southwest side.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1889.



N – Douglas County

E – Sawyer County

S – Barron County

W – Burnett County




















Photos taken 2007 and 2008