Vernon County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Vernon County

Vernon County is named for Mount Vernon, the home of President George Washington in Virginia.


Created:  March 22, 1862

County Seat: 

Viroqua  1862 – present


County Courthouse – Viroqua


Location:  400 Court House Square Street / West Decker Street

Built:  1880 – 1881

Style:  Gothic and Late 19th and 20th Century Revival

Architect:  Carl F Struck

Contractor:  Ole Larson


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story light buff colored brick structure. The east front has a small portico on the first story with balcony on the second story with a large arched window. A square brick tower rises to a square open cupola. Behind the tower is a lower section with the high main building behind. On the west side is an addition which is connected to the original building.



N – La Crosse County and Monroe County

E – Juneau County and Sauk County

S – Richland County and Crawford County

W – Allamakee County, Iowa and Houston County, Minnesota










Photos taken 2007 and 2010