Trempealeau County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Trempealeau County

Trempealeau County is named for Trempealeau Mountain which is located in the county and comes from the French meaning “mountain with its foot in the water” referring to a bluff in a bend of the Trempealeau River.


Created:  January 27, 1854

County Seat: 

Galesville    1854 – 1876

Arcadia        1876 – 1877

Whitehall     1877 – 1878

Arcadia        1878 – 1883

Whitehall     1883 – present


County Courthouse – Whitehall


Location:  36245   Main Street / Scranton Street

Built:  1954 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Klinger and Associates of Eau Claire

Contractor:  Johnson Construction Company of Winona, Minnesota


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick structure. Along the east front are  entrances on the north and on the south. Also on the east front is figure etched in stone and rising two stories. The roof line is flat. This building was attached to the courthouse erected in 1883 on the west side. The 1883 courthouse was built in 1883. The architect was Charles B Cook and the contractor was S S Luce of Galesville. The building was enlarged in 1911. The building was demolished in 1981. In 1967, an addition was added on the north to double the size of the building. Another addition was added in 1976 and in 1982.



N – Eau Claire County

E – Jackson County

S – La Crosse County and Winona County, Minnesota

W – Buffalo County 











Photos taken 2006, 2008 and 2012