Sawyer County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Sawyer County

Sawyer County is named for Philetus Sawyer, who was a United States Senator from Wisconsin from 1881 to 1893.


Created:   March 10, 1883

County Seat: 

Hayward  1883 – present


County Courthouse – Hayward


Location:  10610 Main Street / West 5th Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Larson-Playter-Smith of Eau Claire

Contractor:  Kramschuster Incorporated


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The southwest front has a pitched roof over the glassed entrance with red colored wood finish. To the west the section has stone facing and on the east is dark red colored siding. The southeast wing is two stories and descends down the low hill. Wings were added in 1992 and 1998.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by N B Rundle in 1884.



N – Bayfield County and Ashland County 

E – Ashland County and Price County

S – Rusk County

W – Washburn County





County Courthouse







Photos taken 2007 and 2010