Polk County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Polk County

Polk County is named for James K Polk, who was the eight President of the United States of America.


Created:  March 14, 1853

County Seat: 

Balsam Lake  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Balsam Lake


Location:  1005 West Main Street / Highway 46 West

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Venture Architect of Milwaukee

Contractor:  Miron Construction of Black River Falls


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The northeast front entrance section has a circular second story with vertical brick dividers on the first story forming a semi circle. The rest of the building has square lines. The roof line is flat. The building is called the “Polk County Justice Center”.


County Administration – Balsam Lake




Location:  100 Polk County Plaza / Highway 46 West

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hirsch Associates Inc. of Hudson

Contractor:  Bor-Son Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story grey concrete and glass  structure. The south front has a recessed central entrance with horizontal window above. The west section extends from the main building. The windows are horizontal and the roof line is flat. The building descends a slope towards the north. The building is called the “polk County Government Center”.


Old County Courthouse – Balsam Lake




Location:  120 Main Street / Mill Street

Built:  1899 – 1900

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Orff & Guilbert

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The first story entrance extends from the main building and has an arch and balcony on the second story. Behind the entrance rises a five story square brick tower with peaked roof. On each of the building corners are large square towers with peaked roofs. The building is now the Polk County Museum



N – Burnett County

E – Barron County

S – Saint Croix County

W – Washington County, Minnesota and Chisago County, Minnesota