Outagamie County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Outagamie County

Outagamie County is named for the Outagamie Native American people.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Waupaca CountyShawano County and Brown County 

E – Brown County 

S – Calumet County and Winnebago County

W – Waupaca County


Created:  February 17, 1851                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Outagamie County

County Seat: 

Grand Chute  1851 – 1852

Appleton        1852 – present


County Courthouse – Appleton


Location:  310 South Walnut Street / West 6th Street

Built:  1940 – 1942

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Raymond N Le Vee

Contractor:  Hoffman Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a four story buff colored limestone clad structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Appleton. The buff limestone was quarried in Bloomington, Indiana. The  windows are vertical and narrow. The west center section projects from the main building and has four vertical dividers. The exterior stone is buff limestone from Bloomington, Indiana. The roof line is flat. The interior has golden-vein polished marble from Arkansas in the main lobby and the corriddors of the second and third stories. The designer of the building interior was Maurey Lee Allen. Aluminum also ornaments the domed lobby, but frescoes on the lobby walls lend the space a sense of warmth. Francis Scott Bradford, an Appleton native and nationally prominent muralist, depicted themes of settlement, labor, and family, each accompanied by Bible verses. In 2012, the building is being renovated, and the contractor is Hurckman Mechanical  Industries Inc. of Green Bay.


County Justice Center – Appleton




Location:  320 South Walnut Street / West 6th Street

Built:  1990 – 1992

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Potter Lawson Architects

Contractor:  Miron Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a seven story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on the north side of the courthouse. The west entrance projects from the main building with two sets of doors. The north and south sections rise above the flat roof line.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Brown CountyDoor County, Kewaunee County, Marinette County, Oconto County and Waupaca County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and the first county seat was Grand Chute. The county was attached to Brown County for legal purposes until 1848. The county seat moved to Appleton in 1852 and the first courthouse was built in 1852. The second courthouse was designed by H C Koch and constructed by Daniel Stephens in 1882. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1940 to 1941. The County Justice Center was constructed in 1990 to 1992.




County Courthouse – Appleton
















County Justice Center – Appleton




Photos taken 2007 and 2010