Lafayette County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Lafayette County

Lafayette County is named for Marie Joseph Paul Lafayette, who was a French general who fought in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1757 to 1834.


Created:   January 31, 1846

County Seat: 

Shullberg   1853 – 1866

Darlington   1866 – present


County Courthouse – Darlington


Location:  626 Main Street / Harriet Street

Built:  1905 – 1907

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank W Kinney & Meno S Detweiler of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Contractor:  General Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story limestone and sandstone  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. The east front has a high portico supported by two columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a high square open cupola with clock and green  colored dome.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1861. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $105,360.



N – Iowa County

E – Green County

S – Stephenson County, Illinois and Jo Daviess County, Illinois

W – Grant County




Photos taken 2006