Jackson County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Created:   February 11, 1853

County Seat: 

Black River Falls  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Black River Falls


Location:   307 Main Street / North 3rd Street

Built:  1878 – 1879

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Nowland and Wilcox of Janesville

Contractor:  Nowland and Wilcox of Janesville


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city and has a large square tower at the south front. The building expands east and west forming the center section. A wide band of stone trims the roof line. The upper part of the tower was removed in 1937 and an addition was added on the north side. A further addition was added on the north side in 1966.



N – Eau Claire County and Clark County

E – Wood County and Juneau County

S – Monroe County and La Crosse County

W – Trempealeau County




County Courthouse







Photos taken 2006 and 2008