Eau Claire County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Eau Claire County

Eau Claire County is named for the French words meaning “clear water”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Chippewa County

E – Clark County

S – Jackson CountyTrempealeau County and Buffalo County 

W – Pepin County and Dunn County


Created:  October 6, 1856                      Map of Wisconsin highlighting Eau Claire County

County Seat: 

Eau Claire  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Eau Claire


Location:  721 Oxford Avenue / Lake Street

Built:  1951 – 1953

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Childs & Smith of Chicago, Illinois

Contractor:  L C Arnold Construction of Eau Claire.


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story stone, glass and concrete structure. The building forms the center of the complex located on landscaped grounds in the center of Eau Claire. The building is faced with buff colored stone. The roof line is flat. An addition was added on the south side in 1973. A further addition was added on the north side in 1988 with architect Ayers Associates and contractor P C Maron Construction Inc. A further addition was added in 1993.


History:  The county was created in 1856 and Eau Claire was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wood frame structure on the Emery side of the Courthouse Square ( Wilson Park ). The second courthouse was designed by E Townsend Mix and built at Grand Street and Oxford Street in 1873 to 1877. The first courthouse was moved and became the Binder House Hotel until torn down in 1953. The Third and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 to 1953.




County Courthouse – Eau Claire



















Photos taken 2007 and 2008