Dunn County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Dunn County

Dunn County is named for Charles Dunn, who was a state Senator and Chief Justice of the Wisconsin Territory.


Created:  February 3, 1854

County Seat: 

Dunnville      1854 – 1861

Menomonie  1861 – present


County Courthouse – Menomonie


Location:  615 Stokke Parkway / Parkway Drive

Built:  1996 – 1998

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ayers Associates

Contractor:  Market & Johnson Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and  is a low two story stone and concrete structure. The building is called the “Dunn County Judicial Center”. The building is faced with a yellow polished stone with a horizontal band of rough yellow stone above the windows.  On the south side, the building is entered on the second story and descendes down a slope on the north side.


County Administration – Menomonie




Location:  800 Wilson Avenue / 9th Street SE

Built:  1959 – 1960

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Schubert, Sorenson & Associates

Contractor:  Keller Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The east and west wings form a wide “V” shape with the main entrance with glassed windows, in the center of the building. Metal and concrete dividers run vertically between the windows. The building is called the “Government Center” and houses the Menonomie City Hall offices. The building served as the courthouse untill 1998.



N – Barron County

E – Chippewa County and Eau Claire County

S – Pepin County

W – Pierce County and Saint Croix County








Photos taken 2007 and 2008