Dane County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Dane County

Dane County is named for Nathan Dane, who was a Massachusetts delegate to the Congress of the Confederation and who helped carve Wisconsin out of the Northwest Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sauk County and Columbia County

E – Dodge County and Jefferson County

S – Rock County and Green County

W – Iowa County and Sauk County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Dane County

County Seat: 

Madison  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Madison


Location:  215 South Hamilton Street / Wilson Street

Built:  2003 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Durrant Architects

Contractor:  Miron Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a ten story brick, stone, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Madison. The building forms a triangle with small square windows. The first story has columns with a recessed glass wall. On the upper section is a large glass wall. The roof is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit.

Old County Courthouse – Madison




Location:  210 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard / Doty Street

Built:  1955 – 1957

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Holabird, Root and Burgee of Chicago and Law, Law, Potter and Nystrom of Madison

Contractor:  B Perni and Sons Inc. of Framingham, Massachusetts


Description:  The building faces north and is a seven story concrete and glass structure. Ther building is located in the center of Madison. The north front has a projecting center section with glass doors and cemet grill work on the second level. The roof line is flat. The building servered as a courthouse until 2005 and now serves as the Madisin City Hall.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Columbia CountyGreen CountyLafayette County, Rock County and Sauk County


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Madison was selected as the county seat. The court met at different locations. The first courthouse was built in 1849 to 1851 at a cost of $12,000. The second courthouse was a three story structure designed by Henry Koch and constructed by D Stevens in 1883 to 1886 at a cost of $180,000. The third courthouse was constructed in 1955 to 1957. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2003 to 2005.


See:  The Wisconsin Supreme Court is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Madison










Old County Courthouse – Madison







Photos taken 2008 and 2015