Buffalo County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Buffalo County

Buffalo County is named for the Buffalo River which was named in 1680 by Father Hennepin as the French voyagers called it “Riviere des Boeuf” meaning  “Buffalo”.


Created:  July 8, 1853

County Seat: 

Alma  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Alma


Location:  407 2nd Street / Swift Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  The Cerny Associates, Inc of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Alvin Benike of Rochester, Minnesota


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story brown colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The first story along the west side and north side are recessed with square concrete pillars forming a long porch. At the south end, the building is dark red colored brick and is three stories. This addition was added in 1988.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1861. The previous courthouse was constructed by Roettiger & Company in 1888.



N – Pepin County and Eau Claire County

E – Trempealeau County

S – Winona County 

W – Wabasha County, Minnesota and Pepin County





Photos taken 2007