Tucker County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Tucker County

Tucker County is named for Henry St. George Tucker, who was a United States Congressman and a judge of the Virginia Supreme Court.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Preston CountyGarrett County, Maryland and Grant County

E – Grant County

S – Randolph County and Pocahontas County

W – Barbour County


Created:  March 7, 1856                         Map of West Virginia highlighting Tucker County

County Seat: 

Parsons  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Parsons 


Location:  215 1st Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1898 – 1900

Style:  Flemish Renaissance and Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  P Q Shrake


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story dark red colored brick, stone  and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Parsons. The south front has a high central square red colored brick tower with clock and steep roof at the top. On the east side of the tower is a large stone arch with recessed entrance and behind it rises a round tower with conical roof. On the west side is a projecting two story section with the main building rising at a gabled roof. On the west side is the two story red colored brick Sheriff’s Residence.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Tucker County Courthouse


County Courthouse Annex – Parsons 




Location:  211 1st Street / Main Street

Built:  2010 – 2013

Style:  Modern

Architect:  ZZM Architects

Contractor:  G A Brown & Son, Inc. of Fairmont


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story dark red colored brick, stone, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Parsons on the west side of the courthouse. The southeast section extends from the main building. Along the east side is a glass wall. The roof line is flat. The courtrooms are located on the second, third and fourth stories. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 21st Judicial Circuit, County Magistrates Court and Family Court. 


See:  The 21st Judicial District includes Grant County and Mineral County.


History:  The county was created in 1856 and Parsons was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1859. In 1893, the county seat was moved to Parsons when the citizens from Parsons stole the records and court bell. The second courthouse was a store on Main Street. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1898 to 1899. The County Courthouse Annex was constructed in 2010 to 2013 at a cost of $4,000,000.




County Courthouse - Parsons  



















County Courthouse Annex – Parsons




Sheriff’s Residence – Parsons

Photos taken 2012