Monroe County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Monroe County

Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Created:  January 14, 1799

County Seat: 

Union  1799 – present


County Courthouse – Union


Location:  350 Main Street / North Street

Built:  1881 – 1882

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Charles C Kemble of Wheeling

Contractor:  A C Houston ( supervisor )


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The bricks for the building were made locally. The north front has a projecting central section with recessed entrance with sloped roof above. On the second story are two arched windows and the center section rises to a peaked roof. There are projecting center section on the north and south sides which rise to peaks above the roof line. On the east side is an addition. The building has arched windows. The building has a hipped roof. In 1975, an addition was constructed on the east side. In 2012 the building was undergoing restoratuion work. The architect is Mills Group of Clarksburg and the contractor is Tri Sate Roofing & Sheet Metal Company of Charleston. On the east side is the old brick jail.


Note:  The Commission minutes show that an architect was hired to prepare plans. A C Houston was appointed to supervise construction at $8000. The minutes do not show who was hired to construct the building, so it is presumed that local labor and trades were used. It is also presumed that Charles C Kemble was the architect as the courthouse resembles Woodburn Hall at the University of West Virginia in Morganstowns, which building was designed by Charles C Kemble. The building plans were lost by the contractor who was a local tradesman when the plans blew out of his wagon.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1802 and the next courthouse was built in 1820.



N – Greenbrier County

E – Alleghany County, Virginia. and  Craig County, Virginia 

S – Giles County, Virginia and Mercer County

W – Summers County























Photos taken 2012