Mingo County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Mingo County

Mingo County is named for the Mingo Native American tribe.


Created:  January 30, 1895

County Seat: 

Williamson  1895 – present


County Courthouse – Williamson


Location:  75 East 2nd Avenue / Court Street

Built:  1964 -1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  William R Frampton and Walter S Donati

Contractor:  Neighborgall Construction Company of Huntington


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story cream colored limestone structure. The east front has a central entrance trimmed with dark stone. The windows are vertical with panel between and divided by vertical dividers. The base of the building is dark colored stone and the roof line is flat.


Note:  Also involved in the construction of the courthouse were Roanoke Iron & Bridge Works Inc. and Dover Elevator Company.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Frank Pierce Milburn and constructed by Charles A Moses in 1904.



N – Wayne County and Lincoln County

E – Logan County and Wyoming County

S – McDowell County, Buchanan County, Virginia and Pike County, Kentucky

W – Pike County, Kentucky and Martin County, Kentucky


















Photos taken 2012