Marion County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Created:  January 14, 1842

County Seat: 

Fairmont  1842 – present


County Courthouse – Fairmont 


Location:  219 Adams Street / Jefferson Street

Built:  1897 – 1900

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Joseph Warren Yost and Frank L Packard of Columbus, Ohio

Contractor:  Westwater and Company of Columbus, Ohio and C A Abernathy


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The southeast front has a large portico with six columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. Within the tympanum are decorative figures of scales, an eagle with outstretched wings, a mining car, a shovel and a male figure representing justice, power, agriculture and mining. There are porticoes on the north and south sides. On the center of the roof is a large dome with clock and small cupola at the top where the Statue of Justice stands. Around the roof line is a balustrade. During construction, the superindent was T L Burchinal. On the south side is the old Sheriff Residence with Jail.



N – Monongalia County

E – Monongalia County

S – Taylor County and Harrison County

W – Wetzel County


























Photos taken 2012