Harrison County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Harrison County

Harrison County is named for Benjamin Harrison, who was a Governor of Virginia.


Created:  May 3, 1784

County Seat: 

Clarksburg  1784 – present


County Courthouse – Clarksburg 


Location:  301 West Main Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  R L Walker and H F Horne of Cleveland, Ohio and Carlton C Wood of   Clarksburg

Contractor:  Hutter Construction Company of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin


Description:  The building faces north and is a nine story stone, steel and concrete structure. There is a plaza on the north side with a statue of Thomas J “Stonewall” Jackson who was born in Clarksburg. The building has a structural steel frame. The sleek facade is constructed of buff colored limestone. The north front projects from the main building and rises to a clock at the top. The first story entrance and the base of the building are polished black granite. The roof line is flat.


Note:  On either side of the north entrance are metal tablets symbolic of the Ten Commandments of Mosaic Law resting on black granite pedestals.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by George W Bunting and constructed by George W L Mayer in 1889.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harrison County Courthouse



N – Marion County

E – Taylor County and Barbour County

S – Upshur County and Lewis County

W – Doddridge County and Wetzel County


























Photos taken 2012