Grant County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Grant County

Grant County is named for General Ulysses S Grant ( 1822-1885 ), the 18th president of the United States.


Created:  February 14, 1866

County Seat: 

Petersburg  1866 – present


County Courthouse – Petersburg 


Location:  5 Highland Avenue / Grove Street

Built:  1974 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Herbert T Stratton of Winchester, Virginia

Contractor:  Harbel, Incorporated of Cumberland, Maryland


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a projecting second story. The entrance on the first story is recessed. The building is on the side of a slope with the north entrance on the second story. The roof line is flat.


Old County Courthouse – Petersburg




Location:  115 Virginia Avenue / Pine Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Neo-Colonial

Architect:  George F Sansbury of Cumberland, Maryland

Contractor:   A W Sites and local trades


 Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building faces north and was completed in 1909. The north front has a large portico with four white columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are outside stairs to the second story entrance. The roof is hipped.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Grant County Courthouse



N – Garret County, Maryland and Mineral County

E – Hardy County

S – Pendleton County

W – Randolph County and Tucker County























Photos taken 2012