Fayette County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Fayette County

Fayette County is named for Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette, who was a French general and politician and who fought in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County and Nicholas County

E – Greenbrier County

S – Summers County and Raleigh County

W – Kanawha County


Created:  February 28, 1831                  Map of West Virginia highlighting Fayette County

County Seat: 

Fayetteville  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Fayetteville 


Location:  110 North Court Street / Maple Avenue

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Millard F Giesey and Edward Bates Franzheim of Wheeling

Contractor:  Murray Brothers of Wheeling


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Fayetteville. The southwest front has a stone porch on the first story with four columns supporting a balcony on the second story. There is a similar porch on the southeast side. On the second story is a triple window with stone arches above and rising to a third story with peak. On the northwest side is a large square red colored brick tower with steep roof. There is stone trim decorating the building. The foundation is sandstone and the roof is hipped. The interior has a cast-iron main stair in the tower. There are several fireplaces with marble mantels. The courtroom is located on the southwest side of the second story and has a fanlight above the entrance door. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial Circuit and County Family Court. During construction, M M Rush was the superintendent. The building was extended in 1948, 1958 and 1976. On the southeast side is the three story stone jail. On the northeast side is the Courthouse Annex.


Note:  The 1895 bell in the courthouse tower is still rung on court days.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Fayette County Courthouse


County Courthouse Annex – Fayetteville 


Location:  110 North Court Street / Maple Avenue

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Fayetteville on the northeast side of the courthouse. The land slopes and the third story is exposed along the south side. The southwest front of the building has a square red colored brick tower with entrances on either side of the second story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Magistrate Court. 


History:  The county was created in 1831 and Fayetteville (Vandalia) was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in 1838. The courthouse was destroyed during the Civil War by Union Troops. The second courthouse was erected and was replaced in 1887 with the third courthouse, a brick and stone structure designed by Frank Davis of Baltimore, Maryland. The courthouse burned in April 1893. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895 at a cost of $58,297.




County Courthouse – Fayetteville

























County Jail – Fayetteville







Photos taken 2012