Doddridge County

US States / V-Z / West Virginia / Doddridge County

Doddridge County is named for Phillip Doddridge, who was a United States Congressman from Virginia.


Created:  February 4, 1845

County Seat: 

West Union  1845 – present


County Courthouse – West Union 


Location:  117 East Court Street / Church Street

Built:  1899– 1903

Style:  Victorian Romanesque

Architect:  J Charles Fulton of Uniontown, Pennsylvania

Contractor:  John P Conn


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The northeast front has a high central tower rising to a clock and steep roof. On the west side of the tower is the large stone arched entrance. The northwest corner has a round tower with conical roof. Above the entrance are three large arched windows and on the third story is a balcony with windows and a Statue of Justice below the gabled roof. The building features stone carvings by James Grant.


Note:  The previous courthouse was destroyed by fire on November 27, 1898.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Doddridge County Courthouse



N – Wetzel County

E – Harrison County and Lewis County 

S – Gilmer County

W – Ritchie County and Tyler County





County Courthouse






















Photos taken 2012