Skagit County

US States / V-Z / Washington / Skagit County

Skagit County is named for the Skagit Native American tribe who resided in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Whatcom County

E – Okanogan County and Chelan County

S – Snohomish County

W – Island County and San Juan County


Created:  November 28, 1883                Map of Washington highlighting Skagit County

County Seat: 

Mount Vernon  1883 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Vernon 


Location:  205 Kincad Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1923 – 1925

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  T F Doan of Bellingham

Contractor:  Alexander & MacNeal Construction Company of Mount Vernon


Description:  The building  faces south and is a three story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The south front has a large portico supported by four large columns with pediment above. There is a partial balustrade along the flat roof line.


County District Court – Mount Vernon 




Location:  600 South 3rd Street / Kincad Street

Built:  1982 – 1983

Style:  Modern

Architect:  The NBBJ Group

Contractor:  Cobra Construction Company


Description:  The building  faces west and is a three story red and buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building runs along the east side of the courthouse. The west side has a recessed center section with glass entrance. The roof line is flat.


County Administration – Mount Vernon 




Location:  205 Kincad Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Henry Klein & Associates

Contractor:  Nelse Mortensen & Company Inc.


Description:  The building  faces east and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building runs along the west side of the courthouse. The south side is rounded with no windows. The roof line is flat.




County Courthouse – Mount Vernon

























Photos taken 2006, 2009 and 2016