Garfield County

US States / V-Z / Washington / Garfield County

Garfield County is named for James Abram Garfield, who was the twentieth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Whitman County

E – Whitman County and Asotin County

S – Wallowa County, Oregon

W – Columbia County


Created:  November 29, 1881                Map of Washington highlighting Garfield County

County Seat: 

Pataha City  1881 – 1883

Pomeroy      1883 – present


County Courthouse – Pomeroy 


Location:  789 Main Street / South 8th Street

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Late Victorian

Architect:  Charles Burrgraf of Albany, Oregon

Contractor:  August Isle of Spokane


Description:  The building  faces south and is a two story white colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pomeroy. The central entrance projects from the main building and rises one story with a balcony on the second story. On the east side of the entrance is a large square tower rising three stories to a clock and having a statue of Justice at the top of the domed roof. On the west side is a three sided tower rising three stories with a steep roof. The courtroom is located on the second story.


History:  Pataha City was named as the first county seat. In 1883, Pomeroy became the county seat in 1883. The first courthouse was a wood frame structure erected in 1887 in Pomeroy. The courthouse burned. In 1900. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1900 to 1901.




County Courthouse – Pomeroy































Photos taken 2009 and 2016