Cowlitz County

US States / V-Z / Washington / Cowlitz County

Cowlitz County is named for the Cowlitz Native American tribe.


Created:  April 21, 1854

County Seat: 

Monticello   1854 – 1856

Freeport     1856 – 1872

Kalama       1872 – 1923

Kelso          1923 – present


Old County Courthouse – Kelso


Location:  207 North 4th Avenue / Academy Street

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  W W Lucius

Contractor:  C F Martin


Description:  The building  faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete  structure. The south front has a small framed entrance at the center of the first story and above is a large window extending up to the third story. The building ascends a slope to the north. The roof line is flat. The building was enlarged in 1939. The architect was Ray V Weatherst and Arch N Torbitt and the contractor was George H Buckler Company. The building was renovated to become the Administartion Building from 1976 to 1979 when the Hall of Justice was completed. The architect was Noell, Edelmann / Sheldon, Eggleston, Sax Associate Consultants and the contractor was W G Clark Construction Company.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in Kalama in 1900 following the ise of the Kazana Hotel since 1872.


County Hall of Justice – Kelso




Location:  312 SW 1st Avenue / Lincoln Street

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Newhall, Crook & Associates

Contractor:  Bough Construction Company


Description:  The building  faces east to the Cowlitz River and is a four story buff brick, glass and concrete structure. The east front has a central section with high square towers on either side of the recessed center. A large canopy extends from the building at the first story entrance. There are vertical concrete dividers along the north and south walls with the flat roof overhanging. An expansion of the jail was completed from 1984 to 1985. The architect was Crook, Shaw, Collins Architects and the contractor was J M Kelly.



N – Lewis County

E – Skmania County

S – Clark County

W – Columbia County, Oregon and Wahkiakum County























Photos taken 2012