Benton County

US States / V-Z / Washington / Benton County

Benton County is named for Thomas Hart Benton, who was a United States Senator from Missouri.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grant County

E – Franklin County and Walla Walla County

S – Umatilla County, Oregon and Morrow County, Oregon

W – Klickiat County and Yakima County


Created:  March 8, 1905                         Map of Washington highlighting Benton County

County Seat: 

Prosser  1905 – present


County Courthouse – Prosser 


Location:  620 Market Street / Main Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Link & Rasquil of Spokane

Contractor:  Ernst White & Company of Twin Falls, Idaho


Description:  The building  faces north and is a three story brown colored brick, terra cotta and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Prosser. The north front has a large portico with two columns rising to the top of the second story, with a pediment above. The concrete foundation is covered with grey colored stucco. A wide horizontal white colored band runs below the first story windows and above the second story windows. A cornice runs below the roof line. The roof line is flat. Decorative features in the interior include terrazo flooring, oak banisters, doors, window and door surrounds; and moulded, plastered cornices. An addition was constructed on the south sided in 1987. The architect was Ohashi-Augier Architects of Richland and the contractor was Lydig Construction Inc.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Benton County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1905 and Prosser was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1905 was the Riverside Hotel built in 1887. From 1907 to 1919 the county occupied offices in the Viles Block on Seventh Street. The second courthouse was built in 1905. The cost of construction of the third and present courthouse in 1926 to 1927 was $87,000. The bid of Ernst White & Company of Twin Falls, Idaho was $75,321. George Rasque of Wisconsin headed the construction project.


County Justice Center – Kennewick




Location:  7121 West Okanagan Place / West Quinault Avenue

Built:  2001 – 2003

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ohashi-Augier Architects and Planners of Richland and Hummel Architects of Boise, Idaho

Contractor:  Garco Construction Inc. of Spokane


Description:  The building  faces east and is a two story cream colored concrete and glass structure. The building is located on spacious grounds on the northwest side of the Justice Center Complex in Kennewick. The east front has a high concrete wall with recessed entrance on the east side. The windows are horizontal and recessed. The roof line is flat. The building houses the District Court for Benton County and Franklin County.


Note:  The Justice Center has three buildings with the Court Building A ( 2001 ) on the northwest, Sheriff’s Office Building B ( 1984 ) on the northeast and the Jail ( 1984 ) along the south. Construction and renovation costs in 2001 were $29,730,000.


County Juvenile Justice Center – Kennewick




Location:  5606 West Canal Drive / North Grant Street

Built:  1978 – 1979

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Carson & Kesterson

Contractor:  Gilbert H Moen


Description:  The building  faces south and is a one story buff colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in Kennewick and is “U” shaped. The recessed entrance is located at the southeast corner. The windows are horizontal and the roof line is flat. The building is named for James J Lawlass and serves Benton County and Franklin County.




County Courthouse – Prosser











































Picture 1905 First County Courthouse 




County Justice Centwer – Kennewick













County Juvenile Justise Center – Kennewick







Photos taken 2009 and 2016