Wise County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Wise County

Wise County is named for Henry A Wise, who was a governor of Virginia and a Confederate States Army General during the Civil War.


Created:  February 16, 1856

County Seat: 

Wise   1856 – present


County Courthouse – Wise  


Location:  206 East Main Street / Spring Avenue SE

Built:  1895 – 1896

Style:  Renaissance Revival and Italianate

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Milbourne Gilliam & Creed Flanary


Description:  The building faces north east and is a two story buff colored brick structure. The north front has a small porch at the central entrance with two columns rising to a balcony on the second story. A balustrade runs along the roof line. The northeast corner has a high square clock tower and the northwest corner has a high square tower with openings at the top. The second story windows are arched. The base of the building is rough cut limestone. On the west side is a light brown colored brick two story addition constructed in 1920. The addition has a balustrade along the flat roof line. On the south side is the modern four story concrete and glass courthouse constructed from 1979 to 1980. The roof line is flat.The architect was Charles B McElroy and the contractor was Armstrong Construction Company, Inc.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by J Dotson in 1856 and was damaged by fire in 1864 and renovated in 1876.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.



N – Letcher County, Kentucky

E – Dickenson County and Russell County 

S – Russell County, Scott County and Lee County

W – Harlan County, Kentucky and Letcher County, Kentucky






































Photos taken 2013