Tazewell County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Tazewell County

Tazewell County is named for Henry Tazewell, who was a United States Senator from Virginia.


Created:  December 17, 1799

County Seat: 

Tazewell  1800 – present


County Courthouse – Tazewell 


Location:  101 East Main Street / Court Avenue

Built:  1874 – 1875

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  W G Bottimore

Contractor:  H L Branson & W W Peery


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The north front has a portico with four white colored columns with pediment at the roof line. The center section projects from the main building with east and west wings.  A cornice runs below the roof line. The roof is hipped. The building was remodeled in 1914 and the architect was Andrew J Bryan and the contractor was Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky. A large addition was constructed on the south side in 2000 to 2002. The addition is dark red colored brick and concrete. The roof line is flat. The architect was Thompson & Litton and contractor was Ellinwood + Machado.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky.



N – Buchanan County, McDowell County, West Virginia and Mercer County, West Virginia

E – Bland County

S – Bland County and Smyth County

W – Russell County and Buchanan County





























Photos taken 2013