Smyth County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Smyth County

Smyth County is named for Alexander Smyth, who was a former Congressman from Virginia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Russell County and Tazewell County

E – Bland County and Wythe County

S – Grayson County

W – Washington County


Created:  February 23, 1832                  Map of Virginia highlighting Smyth County

County Seat: 

Marion   1832 – present


County Courthouse – Marion  


Location:  109 West Main Street / North Church Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Stephenson & Getaz of Knoxville, Tennessee


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story gray colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marion.. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marion. The building is “T” shaped. The southeast front has a large porch with eight Ionic columns rising to a wide header at the roof line. There is a balcony on the second story. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. On the center of the hipped roof is a large flat octagonal dome. In the interior is the lobby rotunda with stained glass dome. The courtroom is behind the lobby. There is an iron and marble staircase. The interior originally featured an auditorium known as the “Court Square Theater” for public performances. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 28th Judicial Circuit. An addition was constructed on the north side in 1974. The architect was Echols-Sparger & Associates and the contractor was Lincoln Builders Supply, Company, Inc. Further additions were added in 1976 and 2012 when the architect was Moseley Architects. An addition was constructed in 2016. The architect was Mosley Associates and the contractor was Burnwell Construction Company.


Note:  Every courthouse needs an eccentric character or event. Years ago, allegedly a drunk came into the courthouse. At that time the courthouse also served as the City Treasurer’s office. This man gave them a painting of a Dutchmen. He wanted that Dutchman to “guard the money.” It is now sitting above the vault of the Treasurer’s Office. During renovation of the building, one of the Clerks took it home for safekeeping. It was to returned to it’s lofty perch when it was safe.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  The 28th Judicial Circuit includes Bristol and Washington County.


History: The county was created in 1832 and Marion was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Thomas W Mercer and John Dameron in Marion in 1834. The courthouse was razed and the Francis Opera House on main Street was used until the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1905 to 1906 at a cost of $48,082.


Note:  The highest point in Virginia is Mount Rogers at 5729 feet ( 1716 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Marion


































Salt Kettle




Photos taken 2013