Madison County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rappahannock County

E – Culpeper County and Orange County

S – Orange County and Greene County

W – Page County


Created:  December 4, 1792                  Map of Virginia highlighting Madison County

County Seat: 

Madison   1792 – present


County Courthouse – Madison  


Location:  1 South Main Street / Church Street

Built:  1828 – 1830

Style:  Colonial

Architect:  Malcom F Crawford

Contractor:  Malcolm F Crawford, Richard S Boulware and William B Phillips


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Madison. The walls are laid in even colored Flemish bond. The southeast front has an arcade on the first story with four arch and an arch at each end. There are green colored shutters. The building rises to a pediment with a Tuscan entablature at either end. At the front of the roof is an octagonal white colored cupola with green colored dome above. The roof is hipped. The courtroom is located on the first story with two sets of stairs at the rear ascending to a gallery. There is a Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court courtroom on the lower story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 16th Judicial Circuit. On the northeast side is the Clerk’s Office with glass entrance between the building and the new one story addition extending northwest. Across Main Street is the red colored brick Courthouse Annex which houses the General District Court


See:  The Caroline County and Page County courthouses are similar in design as Malcolm F Crawford was the contractor.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Madison County Courthouse


See:  Thomas Jefferson designed the Roman Temple style of courthouse. Prominent among the courthouse builders who had worked at the University of Virginia were Dabney Cosby, Sr., Malcolm F Crawford, and William B Phillips. They in turn influenced other builders in the Jeffersonian idiom, including Branch Ellington, William A Howard, David Meade, and Valentine Parrish. Courthouse still standing  include those in Buckingham County and Charlotte County designed by Jefferson and those in Caroline CountyClarke CountyCumberland CountyGoochland CountyGreene CountyLunenburg County, Madison County, Mecklenburg CountyNottoway CountyPage County, Rappahannock County and Sussex County.


See:  The 16th Judicial Circuit includes Albemarle CountyCharlottesvilleCulpeper CountyFluvanna CountyGoochland County, Greene County, Louisa County and Orange County


History:  The county was created in 1792 and Madison was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log building erected in 1793. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1828 to 1830.




County Courthouse – Madison


































County Courthouse Annex – Madison




Photos taken 2013