Craig County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Craig County

Craig County is named for Robert Craig, who was a Virginia state legislator and a United States Congressman from Virginia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Alleghany County and Botetourt County

E – Botetourt County and Roanoke County

S – Montgomery County and Giles County

W – Monroe County, West Virginia


Created:  March 21, 1851                       Map of Virginia highlighting Craig County

County Seat: 

New Castle  1851 – present


County Courthouse – New Castle 


Location:  303   Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1851 – 1852

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Scuyler W Smith

Contractor:  Stokes Pusey & Company of Roanoke County


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city and is constructed of Femish bond brick. The southeast front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are one story wings on the north and south sides. Above the entrance is an octagonal white wood cupola with red colored roof. The courthouse followed the design of the Botetourt County Courthouse in Fincastle. On the north side is a red coloted brick annex. The building was renovated in 1999. The architect was MCA Martin, Company Architects Inc. On the northwest side is an addition constructed in 2005.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – New Castle Historic District




County Courthouse – New Castle
















Photos taken 2012