Bedford County is named for John Russell, who was the 4th Duke of Bedford.
Created: February 27, 1752
New London 1753 – 1792
Bedford 1792 – present
County Courthouse – Bedford
Location: 123 East Main Street / Court Street
Built: 1929 – 1930
Style: Classical Revival
Architect: C H Hinnant
Contractor: Fred O Fuqua
Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete Classical Revival style structure. The building faces south and was completed in 1930. The south front has a large portico with six Corinthian columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The massive triangular pediment has a unique design incorporating symbols of the local crops of corn and tobacco and the official crest of the fourth Duke of Bedford, John Russell. The center section of the building projects from the main building. On the roof is a high square clock tower with clock and open belfry at the top. The building was renovated in 1997 to 1998. The architect was Fauber Architects and the contractor was Blair Construction. The bell tower was renovated in 2014. The architect was Dominion 7 Architects and the contractor was Jamison-Lewis Construction.
Note: The previous courthouse was built in 1833
County Administration – Bedford
Location: 122 East Main Street / Court Street
Built: 1990 – 1991
Architect: Fauber Architects of Forest
Contractor: John W Daniels from Danville
Description: The building faces north is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located across from the courthouse. The central section of the north front has a projecting center section with a recessed center section with glass panels. and pediment at the roof line. The roof line is flat.
W – Franklin County
Photos taken 2013