Augusta County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Augusta County

Augusta County is named for Princess Augusta of Saxe-Gotha-Altenburg, who was Princess of Wales between 1736 and 1751.


Created:  August 1, 1738

County Seat: 

Staunton  1745 – present


County Courthouse – Staunton  


Location:  1 East Johnson Street / South Augusta Street

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  T J Collins & Son

Contractor:  A F Withrow & Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The south front has a large portico with four columns rising to an ornate pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large dome topped with a lantern and statue of Justice. The second story windows are arched. An addition was added in 1939.


Note:  The first courthouse to stand on this site was built in about 1745 but was soon replaced by a larger building that stood until 1835. The 1835 courthouse stood until 1900 when it was razed to make way for the current building that was completed in 1901.


See: The architect T J Collins & Son also designed the courthouses in Bath County and Rockingham County.


County District Court – Staunton  




Location:  6 East Johnson Street / South Augusta Street

Built:  1951 – 1953

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The north front has a central glass entrance. With a projecting section rising above the roof line on the south side. The roof line is flat. The building is located across from the courthouse.


Note  - Within the county is the independent city of Waynesboro



N – Rockingham County

E – Albemarle County and Nelson County

S – Rockbridge County

W – Bath County,  Highland County and Pendleton County, West Virginia






































Photos taken 2013