Arlington County

US States / V-Z / Virginia / Arlington County

Arlington County is named for Henry Bennet 1st Earl of Arlington whose name was applied to a plantation along the Potomac River.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Washington, D.C.

E – Alexandria 

S – Fairfax County

W – Fairfax County


Created:  February 27, 1801                  Map of Virginia highlighting Arlington County

County Seat: 

Arlington  1801 – present


County Courthouse – Arlington


Location:  1425 Courthouse Road / 14th Street North


Built:  1991– 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hanson Lind Meyer Design

Contractor:  Ellinwood + Machado


Description:  The building faces west and is a fourteen story concrete and glass structure. The building is a post-tensioned concrete flat slab design. The main entrance is on the west side facing a plaza with the Detention Center on the west side. The windows are vertical with panels between the stories. The south side has a glass paneled center section.


Note: The first courthouse was designed by Albert Goenner and was constructed by Joseph H Hobson in 1889. Addition were constructed in 1929 and 1948 when the contractor was Lee T Turner. The next courthouse was designed by John M Walton & Associates and constructed in 1960. The cost of construction of the present courthouse and detention center was $75,000,000.




County Courthouse – Arlington










Photos taken 2013