Chittenden County

US States / V-Z / Vermont / Chittenden County

Chittenden County is named for Thomas Chittenden, who was the first governor of Vermont in 1991 to 1797.


Created:  October 22, 1789 

County Seat: 

Burlington 1789 – present


County Courthouse – Burlington 


Location:  175 Main Street / Church Street

Built:  1903 – 1907

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  James Knox Taylor

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a white colored stone and concrete   structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The first story has horizontal stone. Six sets of double columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story. The roof line is flat with a balustrade. The building was constructed as a United States Post Office and later became the Army Reserve Center before transfer to the county in 1974. The building was renovated in 1974 for use as a courthouse. The architect was Ralph P Branson of Burlington.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Edgar C Ryer of Burlington and built in 1871 to 1872 and stood on the south side of the present courthouse. The building was demolished.


See:  Edgar C Ryer also designed the old courthouse in Franklin County.


Criminal Courthouse – Burlington 




Location:  32 Cherry Street / Pine Street

Built:  1966 – 1968

Style:  Modern Brutalist

Architect:  Linde-Hubbard Associates of Burlington ( Burlington Associates )

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story red-brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the west side of the city center. The south front has three rectangular openings on the west side and horizontal windows on the second and third floors. The east section has a recessed section on the first story and horizontal windows on the second to fourth stories.  The building rises to a square clock tower. Along the west side of the building is a section with three rectangular openings. The building is names as the Judge Edward J Costello Courthouse.



N – Grand isle County and Franklin County

E – Lamoille County and Washington County

S – Addison County

W – Essex County, New York, Clinton County, New York and Grand Isle County





County Courthouse































Costello Courthouse













Photos taken 2014 and 2018