Wheeler County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Wheeler County

Wheeler County is named for Joseph E Wheeler, who was a Confederate general.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Laurens County and Truetlen County

E – Montgomery County

S – Jeff Davis County and Telfair County

W – Telfair CountyDodge County and Laurens County


Created:  November 5, 1912                  Map of Georgia highlighting Wheeler County

County Seat: 

Alamo  1912 – present


County Courthouse – Alamo 


Location:  119 Pearl Street / Kent Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Edward Columbus Hosford & Company of Atlanta

Contractor:  F P Heifner


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Alamo. The southeast front has a portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are similar porticoes on each side of the building. A wide horizontal band runs along the flat roof line. On the center of the roof is a large platform, The building was renovated in 1961.


See:  The architect, Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta, Georgia..


History:  The first courthouse was built in Alamo in 1914. The courthouse burned in 1916 and the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1917 to 1918.




County Courthouse – Alamo
















County Superior Court courtroom







Photos taken 2013