Upson County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Upson County

Upson County is named for Stephen Upson, who was a lawyer from Georgia and jurist.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Pike County  and Lamar County

E – Lamar County and Crawford County

S – Taylor County

W – Talbot County and Meriwether County 


Created:  December 15, 1824                Map of Georgia highlighting Upson County

County Seat: 

Thomaston  1824 – present


County Courthouse – Thomaston 


Location:  116 West Main Street / Center Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Gude & Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red-brown colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Thomaston. The east front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are similar porticoes on each side of the building. The central entrance on the first story has a small pediment above. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. On the center of the roof is a dome with clock at the top. The building was restored in 1968. The architect was Adams and Pascullis and the contractor was R H Smalling’s Sons, Inc. There was a second restoration in 2000.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  The courthouse resembles the courthouses in Wilcox County and in Dubois County, Indiana  designed by Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC. The courthouse in Upson County differs in that it has four pedimented entrances and the clock tower is much plainer in design.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Butts County, Carroll CountyClayton County, Coweta CountyFayette CountyHeard CountyHenry CountyLamar CountyMeriwether CountyMonroe CountyPike County, Spalding County and Troup County.


History:  The county was created in 1824 and Thomaston was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of John Turner. The first courthouse was a brick structure built in Thomaston in 1826 to 1828. The second courthouse was built in 1852 using the bricks from the former courthouse. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908 at a cost of $49,735.


County Administration Building – Thomaston 




Location:  106 East Lee Street / Bethel Street

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Eugene C Wachendorff

Contractor:  J L Huggins


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Thomaston. The north front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Probate Court of the 6th Judicial District. The building was renovated for use by the County in 1997 to 1998 as the Upson County Government Complex. The architect was Dimery-Tyler, Associates of Oxford and the contractor was Reddick Construction Company of Thomaston. The building also houses the City of Thomaston offices.


Note:  The building was constructed in 1875 to 1876 as the Thomaston High School. the building was destroyed by fire in 1921. In 1922, the building was rebuilt. and served as the R E Lee Institute,




County Courthouse – Thomaston




























County Administration Building – Thomaston













Photos taken 2013 and 2023