Twiggs County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Twiggs County

Twiggs County is named for John Twiggs, who was a general during the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Bibb County and Jones County

E – Wilkinson County

S – Bleckley County

W – Houston County


Created:  December 14, 1809                Map of Georgia highlighting Twiggs County

County Seat: 

Marion            1809 – 1868

Jeffersonville  1868 – present


County Courthouse – Jeffersonville


Location:  425 Railway Street / Magnolia Street

Built:  1902 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke & Company of Atlanta

Contractor:  Fred Wagner


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Jeffersonville. The southwest front has a central clock tower with arched entrance on the first story, arched window on the second story and rising to a clock and steep roof. On the east and west corners are large square brick towers with steep roofs. , A wing extends east with square brick towers on the corners. A horizontal band runs above the first story. The roof is hipped. The building was renovated from 1996 to 2003. The architect was Brittain, Thompson, Bray and Brown and the labor was supplied by the Department of Corrections.


See:  The cross plan of this courthouse is similar to the courthouse plan in Madison County.


History:  The first court met at the home of John Harden. The first courthouse was a two story wooden structure built in Marion in 1812. Jeffersonville became the county seat in 1869 and the courthouse was moved to the new location. The courthouse burned in 1901 and the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1904.




County Courthouse – Jeffersonville































Photos taken 2013 and 2018