Troup County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Troup County

Troup County is named for George M Troup, who was a Governor of Georgia.


Created:  June 9, 1825

County Seat: 

LaGrange  1825 – present


County Courthouse – LaGrange 


Location:  100 Ridley Avenue / Broad Street

Built:  2004 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Judson S Bryant Associates

Contractor:  Botson Cook Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The north front has a portico with seven columns. The building is finished with red colored brick with areas of white colored stone and dark brown colored brick. Along the south side there are white columns. The building is the Troup County Government Service Center.


Old County Courthouse – LaGrange 




Location:  150 Ridley Avenue / Harrison Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  William J J Chase

Contractor:  A J Honeycutt Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story gray colored marble structure. The west front has a recessed center section with central glass entrance extending up to the second story. There are vertical windows on each side of the entrance. The south side has a projecting center section with glass entrance extending to the second story. The roof line is flat. The building now serves as the Troup County Juvenile Court.


History:  The first courthouse was built by Benjamin Cameron in 1830. The second courthouse was designed by Andrew J Bryan and constructed by C C Totherow & Company in 1902. The building burned in 1936. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 2004 to 2005.



N – Heard County and Coweta County

E – Meriweather County

S – Harris County

W – Chambers County, Alabama and Randolph County, Alabama 




County Courthouse – LaGrange



















Old County Courthouse – LaGrange













Photos taken 2010