Toombs County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Toombs County

Toombs County is named for Robert Toombs, who was a famous politician, an unreconstructed secessionist, United States Representative and United States Senator.


Created:  August 18, 1905

County Seat: 

Lyons  1905 – present


County Courthouse – Lyons


Location:  100 Courthouse Square / NW Broad Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  W P Thompson, Jr.

Contractor:  Scott-Robinson Company.


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building has a row of windows with vertical white dividers in the center section. On the west side is a higher section with long narrow windows. The building has a sloped roof.


History:  The first courthouse was designed by George C Thomason and J W Golucke and built in 1906. The building was destroyed by fire in 1917 and was rebuilt in 1919. The architect was Alexander Blair and the contractor was Little & Phillips. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965.



Treutlen County and Emanuel County

E – Tattnall County

S – Appling County and Jeff Davis County

W – Montgomery County





County Courthouse – Lyons
















Photos taken 2008