Taylor County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Taylor County

Taylor County is named for Zachary Taylor, who was President of the United States and who died in office in July 1850.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Talbot CountyUpson County and Crawford County

E – Crawford County, Peach County and Macon County

S – Macon County and Schley County

W – Marion County and Talbot County


Created:  January 15, 1852                    Map of Georgia highlighting Taylor County

County Seat: 

Butler  1852 – present


County Courthouse – Butler 


Location:  2 North Broad Street / Main Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival with a Colonial Revival Clock Tower

Architect:  Frederick Roy Duncan

Contractor:  M Entrekin


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Butler. The east front has a large portico with four white colored columns rising to a pediment above the roof line. The recessed entrance has a small pediment above. The building has white colored corner trim. There are north and south wings. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola with clock and rising to an octagonal smaller cupola at the top. In the interior is a cross plan with wide entrance hallways coming from each entrance so that they cross each other in the middle. There is office space in the corners and a staircase on the north and south sides of the building. The first story houses county offices. In the public areas there is terrazzo flooring, but in the offices there is now carpeting. Throughout the building there are plaster walls and ceilings, wooden chair rails, wooden window and door surrounds, steam radiators, and some original fixtures and hardware. The stairs are painted concrete with iron posts and balustrade. On the second story is more office space and the large County Superior Court courtroom. The courtroom has the historic tile where the two sections of public seating are and carpeting around the judge’s bench. The ceiling is acoustical tile with hung fluorescent lighting. The classical influence is apparent in the pilasters along the walls, the judge’s bench, banister, pedimented doorway, and the arched window openings. There is a balcony level which was used during segregation. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Taylor County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMacon CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1852 and Fifty Mile Station was selected as the county seat. In the same year, the county seat was moved to Butler. The first courthouse was built in Butler in 1853 and demolished in 1934. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1935.




County Courthouse – Butler



















County Superior Court courtroom







Photos taken 2013