Sumter County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Sumter County

Sumter County is named for Thomas Sumter, who was the last surviving officer of the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Schley County and Macon County

E – Dooly County and Crisp County 

S – Lee County and Terrell County

W – Webster County and Marion County


Created:  December 26, 1831                Map of Georgia highlighting Sumter County

County Seat: 

Americus  1832 – present


County Courthouse – Americus 


Location:  500 West Lanier Street / Dudley Street

Built:  2007 – 2009

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Rosser International of Atlanta

Contractor:  Rosser International of Atlanta


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story dark red-brown brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the west side of the center of Americus. The north front has a projecting one story central section with large arch and recessed entrance. Behind is a projecting section with large arched window on the third story. On the west side rises a four story square brick tower with clock and pitched roof at the top. On the east side is an octagonal brick tower with octagonal sloped roof. The roof is hipped. The courtrooms are located on the third story.


Note:  The marble clad courthouse constructed in 1958 to 1959 was demolished and the marble used to make furniture used in the new courthouse. One of the old prison cell doors has been retained and is located on the grounds.


History:  The county was created in 1831 and Americus was selected as the county seat in 1832. The first court met at the house of John Kimmy. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built in 1839. In 1853, the courthouse was moved to the west side of Jackson Street and the second courthouse, a brick structure, was built. The third courthouse was designed by Bruce & Morgan and was constructed by A McGilvary at Lee Street and Forsyth Street in 1887. The fifth courthouse was a three story brick structure designed by E Oren Smith and constructed by Barber Construction Company in 1959. The courthouse was torn down in 2010 and the sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 2007 to 2009.




County Courthouse – Americus








































Bell from 1887 County Courthouse







Old jail cell door from 1959 County Courthouse




Photos taken 2013 and 2020