Stewart County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Stewart County

Stewart County is named for Daniel Stewart, who was an officer during the American Revolutionary War and during the War of 1812.


Created:  December 23, 1830

County Seat: 

Lumpkin  1830 – present


County Courthouse – Lumpkin 


Location:  2 Main Street / Cotton Street

Built:  1895 – 1896

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Andrew J Bryan of Atlanta

Contractor:  Felton & Lyttle


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The north front has a large portico supported by four white columns with pediment above. There is a similar portico on the south side. The windows are long and narrow. Above the north portico is a high square white cupola with clock at the top. The roof is pitched. The building was destroyed by fire in 1922 and rebuilt in 1923. The architect was T Firth Lockwood Jr. of Columbus and the contractor was Shields-Geise Lumber Company. The building was renovated in 1935 to 1936 under the Works Projects Administration. The building was renovated in 2010.


See: The architect,  Andrew J Bryan, designed the courthouses in Alabama in Coffee County, Lee Countyand Monroe County; in Georgia in Colquitt County and Pulaski County; in Kentucky in Bracken County and Mercer County; in Louisiana in Pointe Coupee Parish;  in Mississippi in Attala County and Simpson County; and in Texas in Rains County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Stewart County Courthouse



N – Chattahoochee County

E – Marion County and Webster County

S – Quitman County

W – Barbour County, Alabama  and Russell County, Alabama

























Photos taken 2009 and 2010