Marion County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Talbot County

E – Taylor CountySchley County and Sumter County

S – Webster County 

W – Stewart County and Chattahoochee County


Created:  December 28, 1828                Map of Georgia highlighting Marion County

County Seat: 

Horry ( Marionville )  1828 – 1838

Tazewell                    1838 – 1849

Buena Vista               1849 – present


County Courthouse – Buena Vista


Location:  100 Broad Street / 6th Avenue

Built:  1849 – 1850

Style:  Vernacular with Neo-Classical

Architect:  Enoch Williams / E A Smith and T W Smith (1928)

Contractor:  Enoch Williams / W C Fulford. (1928)


Description:  The building faces west and s a two story white colored brick and wood structure.  The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Buena Vista. The west front has a large portico supported by four high columns with pediment at the roof line. The roof is hipped with a square cupola with clock. An eagle weather vane surmounts the tower. In the interior, the first story is a cross plan. The main double door has a rectangular transom and side lights. There are painted plaster walls and acoustic tiled ceilings. The County Superior Court courtroom occupiers most of the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The building was remodeled in 1928 when the portico, clock tower and an annex were added. The architect was E A Smith and T W Smith of Columbus and the contractor was W C Fulford. The building was renovated in 1955 and from 1964 to 1965. The architect was Preston McIntosh and the contractor was Creveling, Inc. To the north is the County Magistrate Court at 199 East Burkhalter Avenue.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Marion Copunty Courthouse


Old County Courthouse – Tazewell




Location:  NE – Highway 137 / Highway 240

Built:  1848

Style:  Federal

Architect:  L W Wall

Contractor:  L W Wall


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored wood frame structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tazewell and is constructed with pine wood. There is a wide open porch on the first story of the east side with six wood posts rising to a sloped roof at the second story. The roof is hipped. The building is used by the Masonic Lodge.


See:  The only other wood courthouse in Georgia is the old Chattahoochee County courthouse located in Muscogee County 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Marion County Courthouse ( Tazewell )


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMacon CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1828 and Horry ( Marionville ) was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built at the settlement of Horry ( Marionville ) in 1829. In 1838, the county seat was moved to Tazewell and the second courthouse was built in 1839 and burned in 1845. The third courthouse was a wood structure built in 1848 at a cost of $1,637 and is still standing. In 1849, the county seat was moved to Buena Vista and the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1849 to 1850. In 1928, the cost of the annex and additions was $15,000.




County Courthouse – Buena Vista



















County Superior Court courtroom































Old County Courthouse – Tazewell







Photos taken 2010 and 2020