Laurens County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Laurens County

Laurens County is named for John Laurens, who was aide-de-camp to George Washington and was from South Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Wilkinson County and Johnson County

E – Johnson County and Treutlen County

S – Wheeler County and Dodge County

W – Dodge County and Bleckley County


Created:  December 10, 1807                Map of Georgia highlighting Laurens County

County Seat: 

Sumterville  1807 – 1811

Dublin          1811 – present


County Courthouse – Dublin


Location:  101 North Jefferson Street / Jackson Street

Built:  1962 – 1963

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Cunningham and Forehand

Contractor:  Aaron Torch & Sons Inc.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dublin. The southwest front has a one story section having a portico with four columns rising to a pediment below the roof line. There is a recessed entrance with glass panels. The main entrance is along the north side with a one story glass paneled section. The east section of the building is two stories. The roof line is flat.


History:  The first court met at the residence of Peter Thomas.  The county seat was moved from Sumterville to Sand Bar in 1810 and then to Dublin in 1811. The first courthouse was built in Sand Bar and shortly after, the second courthouse was built in Dublin. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Bruce & Morgan and constructed by James H McKenzie in 1895. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1962 and 1963.




County Courthouse – Dublin




























Photos taken 2013 and 2018