Emanuel County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Emanuel County

Emanuel County is named for David Emanuel, who was the twenty-four governor of Georgia.


Created:  December 10, 1812

County Seat: 

Swainsboro  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Swainsboro 


Location:  125 South Main Street / East Moring Street

Built:  2001 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  James W Buckley & Associates Inc.

Contractor:  Proctor Construction Company


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story light red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Swainsboro and has a high center section with five high arches. The south wing is the old United States post office constructed in 1936, and it extends to the street line. A horizontal projecting band runs below the roof line. The roof line is flat with the exception of the roof over the portico which is hipped.


Note:  The courthouse was originally built as a United States post office in 1936. Later, it became a United States courthouse and served this function until a new United States courthouse was built. In the late 1990s, Emanuel County purchased the building and made it home of the Emanuel County Superior Court, making it the county’s seventh courthouse. In 2002, the county purchased land adjacent to the old United States courthouse and began construction of a new county courthouse that would incorporate the old United States courthouse. Construction of the new courthouse was completed in 2002.


History:  The first court met at the home of Stephen Rich. The first courthouse was erected in Swainsboro in 1814.  The building burned in 1841. The second courthouse was built in 1854 but burned in 1855. The third courthouse was built in 1855 but also burned in 1859. The fourth courthouse was designed by J W Golucke and constructed in 1895 and it burned in 1919. The fifth courthouse was a three story brick structure designed by Goodrich & Clark and constructed by Holly Construction in 1920. The building burned in 1938. The sixth courthouse was a two story marble structure designed by Dennis & Dennis Inc. and constructed in 1940 and demolished in 2000. The seventh and present courthouse was occupied in 2002.



N – Jefferson County and Burke County

E – Jenkins County, Bulloch County and Candler County

S – Tattnall County and Toombs County

W – Montgomery County, Treutlen County and Johnson County





County Courthouse – Swainsboro































Photos taken 2008 and 2018