Dodge County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Dodge County

Dodge County is named for William Dodge, who was a New York congressman and who purchased a large amount of land in the county.


Created:  October 26, 1870

County Seat: 

Eastman  1870 – present


County Courthouse – Eastman 


Location:  5018 Courthouse Circle / Foster Street

Built:  1906 – 1908

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta

Contractor:  M T Lewman & Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The south front and north side have porticos with tall columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the second story is a small balcony with large arched window. The second story windows are arched. A wide horizontal; band runs along the flat roof line.


See:  The architect, Edward Columbus Hosford & Company of Atlanta designed courthouses in Harris County and Wheeler County and in Florida in Baker County, Glades County, Hendry County, Jefferson CountyLafayette County, Pasco County and Polk County.


See:  The architect, Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta, Georgia..


See:  The contractor M T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky.



 Bleckley County

E – Laurens County and Wheeler County 

S – Telfair County

W – Wilcox County and Pulaski County























Photos taken 2013