Carroll County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Carroll County

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the United States Declaration of Independence.


Created:  June 9, 1825

County Seat: 

McIntosh Reserve  1825 – 1819

Carrollton               1829 – present


Old County Courthouse – Carrollton


Location:  323 Newman Street / Dixie Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Italian Renaissance Revival

Architect:  William J J Chase

Contractor:  Carr Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carrollton. The north front has a central entrance framed with stone and two columns with pediment and clock above. The second story has three large arched windows with the center section rising above the east and west wings. The Annex on the west side was built in 1974 and 1975. The architect was Roddenberry & Talley and the contractor was W O Kilgore. The annex was torn down in 2011 to make room for the new courthouse.


County Courthouse – Carrollton




Location:  323 Newman Street / Tanner Street

Built:  2011 – 2012

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Alex Roush Architect and Gardner, Spencer, Smith, Tench & Jarbeau

Contractor:  J&R Construction & Development


Description:  The building faces north and is a five story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carrollton on the west side of the courthouse. The north front has a large two story portico with recessed entrance.  Stone facing rises to the fifth story. The roof line is flat. The old courthouse is located on the east side of the plaza in front of the new building.


History:  The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1849. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Bruce & Morgan and constructed in 1893. The building burned in 1927. The third courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2011 to 2012.



N – Haralson County and Paulding County 

E – Douglas County and Fulton County

S – Coweta County and Heard County

W – Randolph County, Alabama and Cleburne County, Alabama





Old County Courthouse – Carrollton






















County Courthouse Annex demolished in 2011







County Courthouse – Carrollton
















Photos taken 2010 and 2014