Walton County

US States / A-G / Florida / Walton County

Walton County is named for George Walton, who was Secretary of the Florida Territory from 1821 to 1826.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Covington County, Alabama and  Geneva County, Alabama

E – Holmes County, Washington County and Bay County

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Okaloosa County


Created:  December 29, 1824                Map of Florida highlighting Walton County

County Seat:

Alaqua.                   1824 – 1833

Euchee Anna          1833 – 1885

De Funiak Springs  1885 – present


County Courthouse – De Funiak Springs 


Location:  571 East Nelson Avenue / 6th Street

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Warren Knight and Davis of Birmingham, Alabama and Chandler C Young of Pensacola

Contractor:  A C Samford of Montgomery, Alabama


Description: The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of De Funiak Springs. The south front projects from the main building and has a portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the third story. The east and west wings are lower in height. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. On the north side the new section extends east from the main building and the east front has a curved entrance with columns.  The roof is sloped. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial Circuit and County Court. The County Courthouse Addition was added in 2007. The architect was Hatch, Mott, MacDonald Florida, LLC and the contractor was Speagle Construction, Inc.


See: The architect, Warren, Knight & Davis of Birmingham, Alabama, designed courthouses in Franklin County and Gulf County, and in Alabama in Elmore County and Lawrence County.


See:  The 1st Judicial Circuit includes Escambia CountyOkaloosa County and Santa Rosa County.


See:  The county is located in the First Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – First Judicial District located in Tallahassee.


History:  The county was created in 1824 and Alaqua was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Euchee Anna in 1833 and the first courthouse was erected. The courthouse burned in 1885 and the county seat was moved to De Funiak Springs in 1886. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1886. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1925 to 1926.


Note:  The highest point in Florida is Britton Hill at 345 feet ( 105 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse - De Funiak Springs










County Circuit Court courtroom
















County Courthouse Addition - De Funiak Springs













Photos taken 2009 and 2018