Wakulla County

US States / A-G / Florida / Wakulla County

Wakulla County is named for the Timucuan Native American word meaning “spring of water” or “mysterious water”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Leon County

E – Jefferson County 

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Franklin County and Liberty County


Created:  March 11, 1843                       Map of Florida highlighting Wakulla County

County Seat:

Port Leon        1843 – 1844

Newport          1844 – 1880

Crawfordville   1880 – present


County Courthouse – Crawfordville


Location:  3056 Crawfordville Highway / Arran Road

Built:  1948 – 1949

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  James A Stripling

Contractor:  S J Curry & Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story white colored stucco structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Crawfordville. The building is a “U” shape with two wings extending west. The east front has four large vertical pillars with the center section having large windows with many windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial Circuit and County Court. The building was renovated in 1991. The architect was Mays Leroy Gray.


Old County Courthouse – Crawfordville




Location:  23 High Drive / Ochlockonee Street

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Federal

Architect:  G W Tully

Contractor:  G W Tully and Thomas McGlynn


Description: The building faces north and is a three story square white colored wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Crawfordville to the south of the courthouse. The north and west sides have central entrances on the first story. The windows are vertical and narrow. The roof is hipped with peaks on each side of the building. On the center of the roof is an octagonal white colored wood cupola with steep roof. The building is now the Wakulla County Library.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Wakulla County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Franklin County, Gadsden CountyJefferson County, Leon County and Liberty County.


History:  The county was created in 1843. The first courthouse was erected in Port Leon in 1843. The second courthouse was erected in Newport in 1844 when the county seat was moved. The county seat was moved to Crawfordville in 1866 and the courthouse was moved and rebuilt in Crawfordville. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1892. The third courthouse was constructed in 1893 to 1894 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1948 to 1949.


See:  The county is located in the First Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – First Judicial District located in Tallahassee.




County Courthouse – Crawfordville










Old County Courthouse – Crawfordville




Photos taken 2009